Holiday Schedule For 2017

The scheduled holidays for the upcoming 2017 calendar year are below:

Holiday Day Date
New Year’s Day (Observed) Monday January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Monday January 16, 2017
Cesar Chavez Day Friday March 31, 2017
Memorial Day Monday May 29, 2017
Independence Day Tuesday July 4, 2017
Labor Day Monday September 4, 2017
Veterans Day (Observed) Friday November 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 23, 2017
Floating Holiday Friday November 24, 2017
Christmas Day Monday December 25, 2017
Floating Holiday Tuesday December 26, 2017
Floating Holiday Wednesday December 27, 2017
Floating Holiday Thursday December 28, 2017
New Year’s Day Monday January 1, 2018

The Campus will be closed on all of the above days. Supervisors should not schedule employees on the above days, except in emergency situations or for required essential services.

The Floating Holidays are company designated each year. To receive holiday pay, employees must be on paid status during the pay period in which the holiday occurs. Holiday pay is based on the employee’s normal time base.

All employees receive one personal holiday per year. The Personal Holiday for 2017 may be used on any one day acceptable to the employee’s supervisor and should be used by December 31, 2017 (your PH cannot be carried over into 2018).

All supervisors should be aware of and sensitive to the religious holiday obligations of our employees. Appropriate accommodations should be made to ensure to the fullest extent possible that employees have opportunities to express and exercise their religious beliefs. It is our hope that the 2017 holiday schedule, which combines a number of holidays with weekends, will increase the safety of those traveling and give an extra measure of recreation and relaxation throughout our busy year.

If you are a supervisor and your employees do not have access to e-mail, please print out or post the schedule for them. If you have any questions about the new schedule, please call Darsi Bakker, CPC Human Resource Benefits Specialist, at extension 6-6434.

Last updated December 28, 2016