Holiday Schedule 2019

The scheduled holidays for the upcoming 2019 calendar year are below:

 

Holiday Day Date
New Year’s Day (Observed) Tuesday January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Monday January 21, 2019
Cesar Chavez Day Monday April 1, 2019
Memorial Day Monday May 27, 2019
Independence Day Thursday July 4, 2019
Labor Day Monday September 2, 2019
Veterans Day Monday November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 28, 2019
Floating Holiday (Lincoln’s Birthday, observed) Friday November 29, 2019
Floating Holiday (Washington’s Birthday, observed) Monday December 23, 2019
Floating Holiday (CA Admission Da, observed) Tuesday December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday December 25, 2019
Floating Holiday (Columbus Day, observed) Thursday December 26, 2019
*Campus Closed Friday December 27, 2019
New Year’s Day Wednesday January 1, 2020

Closures

The Campus will be closed on all of the days listed above.  Supervisors should not schedule employees on the above days, except in emergency situations or for required essential services.

*The Cal Poly Campus will be closed on 12/27/19 and CPC Benefited employees will need to allocate Vacation, CTO (Comp Time), or PH (Personal Holiday) hours, if available. Employees may only allocate hours to “Leave without Pay” if all paid leave (Vacation, CTO, PH) has been exhausted.

Floating Holidays

The Floating Holidays are company designated each year.  To receive holiday pay, employees must be on paid status during the pay period in which the holiday occurs.  Holiday pay is based on the employee’s normal time base.

Personal Holiday

All employees receive one personal holiday per year. The Personal Holiday for 2019 may be used on any one day acceptable to the employee’s supervisor and should be used by December 31, 2019 (your PH cannot be carried over into 2020).

Special Note

All supervisors should be aware of and sensitive to the religious holiday obligations of our employees. Appropriate accommodations should be made to ensure to the fullest extent possible that employees have opportunities to express and exercise their religious beliefs. It is our hope that the 2019 holiday schedule, which combines a number of holidays with weekends, will increase the safety of those traveling and give an extra measure of recreation and relaxation throughout our busy year.

If you are a supervisor and your employees do not have access to e-mail, please print out or post the schedule for them. If you have any questions about the new schedule, please call Darsi Bakker, CPC Human Resource Benefits Specialist, at extension 6-6434.